Quilting Adventures, New Braunfels, TX

March 10, 2014

This class was my most advanced ever: I came prepared to teach the class with my usual set of mix-and-match templates, and instead my students all said they wanted to design their own spiral mandala quilt from scratch! So, I backed up my teaching materials to the very beginning and we dug in. First they drafted an original 1/8 wedge of a circle, then created a spiral design and did a mock-up in fabric.  Once that was done, they created foundations, sewed the individual spirals, and joined them together. When that was done, we auditioned backgrounds and borders using mirrors to see the completed mandala.  Their designs were gorgeous — click through the gallery to see their progress and results.  (For some reason, the gallery placed the drafting photos at the end and I can’t seem to move them!)

Leave a Reply

