Congratulations to Sharon Engel

July 27, 2012

Here’s an email and photo I received July 22, 2012 from Sharon Engel of Greeley, Colorado:

Greetings RaNae, I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed you on the The Quilt Show. I am a charter member. I loved it so much I went out and bought the book and have watched the show several times. I jumped in and created my own mandala. I call it Columbine Mandala because the center reminded me of a columbine that we have here in Colorado. I also screwed up my courage and entered it in the local county fair. Yesterday was the judging. It won 1st for workmanship, and 1st for first time entry (I’ve never entered in the fair before). It was up for Grand Champion, but didn’t win. The judge commented about all the tiny pieces. I put a tiny yellow cording around the center to have some definition, and the judge commented on that. Here is a picture of my Mandala hanging at the fair with the two pretty ribbons attached.

Just wanted to say thank you for the inspiration to do this. I am considering also entering it in the state fair.

— Sharon Engel

Can I just say how much I love receiving emails like this? Thanks for sharing, Sharon!

RaNae 🙂

One Response to “Congratulations to Sharon Engel”

  1. Sharon Powless Says:

    Wow! I hope one of those ribbons was a best of show award! What a gorgeous quilt!!


Leave a Reply

